相位调制技术的概述

HORIBA Jobin Yvon椭圆偏振光谱仪的UVISEL系列采用了光弹性的调制器来进行无机械运动的高频(50kHz)偏振调制。采用这项技术,系统具备了快速、无运动部件和无需额外的光学元件能在宽的光谱范围提供高精度测量的优点。和传统的椭偏仪相比,相位调制在表征薄膜厚度和光学常数时可以获得更高的灵敏度。

相调制椭偏仪是如何工作的?

光学配置

光源采用覆盖190到2100纳米光谱范围的氙灯。经过起偏器后形成线偏振光,以倾斜角(通常为70°)被研究样品反射。输出头由光弹性调制器和能解析反射光束偏振态的检偏器组成。

两块偏振片在测量过程中是固定的,而光弹性调制器被用于产生调制反射光束的相位偏移。光被光栅单色仪按波长顺序依次投射到探测器进行分析。采用两种类型的探测器分别为:用于FUV-VIS应用的光电倍增管和用于NIR应用的InGaAs光电二极管。

什么是光弹性调制器?

光弹性调制器制作材料是不施加压力时各向同性的熔融石英块。光弹性调制器可视作为一个双折射调制的光学元件。

如果在石英块上施加机械应变,例如在石英块末端安装一个压电传感器产生双折射(n0 ≠ ne)。这意味着在石英块内传播过程中,沿一个轴传播的光速大于其它方向上的,从而产生不同的相速度和调制位相差。

Overview of Phase Modulation Technology

The UVISEL range of horiba scientific spectroscopic ellipsometers use photoelastic modulators to perform polarization modulation at a high frequency (50 kHz) without any mechanical movement. Owing to this technology these systems have the advantage of being very fast, having no moving parts and providing high accuracy measurements over a wide spectral range without the need for extra optical elements. Phase modulation allows the achievement of higher sensitivity for the characterization of thin film thickness and optical constants when compared with conventional ellipsometers.

How does a Phase Modulated Ellipsometer Work?

Optical Setup

The light source is a Xenon lamp that covers a large spectral range from 190 to 2100 nm. After passing through the first polarizer which establishes a linear polarization, the light reflects at oblique angle (generally 70°) from the sample under study. The output head comprises a photoelastic modulator and an analyzing polarizer that resolves the polarization state of the reflected beam.

Both polarizers are held fixed during the measurement while the photoelastic modulator is used to induce a modulated phase shift of the reflected beam. The light is analyzed by a grating monochromator that directs sequentially the light for each individual wavelength onto the detector. Two types of detectors are employed: photomultipliers for FUV-VIS applications, and InGaAs photodiodes for NIR applications.

What is a Photoelastic Modulator?

The photoelastic modulator is a fused silica bar exhibiting isotropic behavior when no stress is applied. The photoelastic modulator is an optical element that can be described as a birefringence modulator.

If a mechanical strain is applied to the quartz bar, such as by a piezoelectric transducer attached to the end of the bar, the modulator becomes birefringent (n0 ≠ ne). This means that light travels along one axis faster than the other when passing through it which produces a different phase velocity for each, and a modulated phase shift is induced to the light beam.