光弹调制相比于其它偏振调制具有哪些优点?

宽光谱覆盖
主要优点在于能够覆盖远紫外到近红外光谱范围,无需多个硬件装置,无需移动任何光学元件,UVISEL即可实现从190nm到2100nm的连续、精确测量。

大接受角范围
光弹调制器的光学元件具有很大的入射角容限,使系统对准变得非常简单。由于光束不沿着旋转元件的主轴前进,这在液体池和沉积/刻蚀反应器里在线测量时是一个很大的优点。

微光斑功能
UVISEL集成了样品光学耦合的反射镜,在整个光谱范围内可以提供小至50微米的微光斑功能。微光斑测量对于表征半导体晶圆上的图案化材料、显示器材料和生物传感器是十分有用的。同时还具有可分析粗糙层和透明基底器件的优点。

全范围内Ψ和Δ的高精度测量
位相调制型椭偏仪通过测量以下参数在全范围内获取样品Ψ 和 Δ的最优化值:

What are the advantages of the photoelastic modulator over others forms of polarization modulation?

Wide spectral range coverage

A major advantage is that a wide spectral range from the FUV to the NIR is covered without the need for several hardware configurations, and without moving any optical elements, the UVISEL provides a continuous and accurate measurement over the wide spectral range from 190 to 2100 nm.

Large acceptance angle

The photoelastic modulator optical element has a large tolerance of the incident angle allowing more simple alignment of the system. As the light beam need not follow the principal axis of a rotating element this is a great advantage when performing measurements in liquid cells, on deposition / etch reactors in-situ.

Microspot capability

The UVISEL integrates mirror based optical coupling to the sample providing a microspot capability up to 50 µm over the whole spectral range. Measurements with microspot are useful for the characterization of patterned materials found in semiconductor wafers, display materials, and biosensors. It provides as well several advantages for the analysis of rough layers and devices with transparent substrates.

High Accuracy Measurements for all Values of Psi and Delta

The phase modulated ellipsometer delivers optimum accuracy for all values of Ψ and Δ for any sample by measuring the parameters: