基本原理

椭圆偏振法是一项应用于不同领域的通用技术。它在半导体、平板显示、光学镀膜、数据存储、通信、化学和生物应用领域被广泛接受用来进行研究和工业质量控制。这项灵敏的测量技术提供了无以伦比的薄膜测量能力,由于使用偏振光探测样品介电特性,还具有非破坏性的优点。

 

椭圆偏振光谱仪可以表征哪些薄膜特性?

通过分析从样品反射光线的偏振状态的变化,这项技术可以精确表征各种特性,包括:薄膜厚度、光学常数、化学组分、结晶度、各向异性和薄膜的均匀性。对于单层和复杂的多层膜,测定几埃米到几十微米的厚度是可行的。

Optical

椭偏方程

椭圆偏振法主要是测量感兴趣的样品反射回来的光束偏振态的变化。偏振态变化的准确特性由样品的特性(厚度和折射率)确定。实验数据通常表达为两个参量Y和D。样品上的入射光偏振态可以分解为s和p分量(s分量平行于样品表面振动,p分量平行入射面振动)。反射后的s分量和p分量强度表示为Rs和Rp。椭圆偏振法的基本方程写为:

 

这里,tanY是反射的振幅改变,D是相位变化。由于椭圆偏振法测量的两个值的比率(而不是任何一个的绝对值), 因此它非常稳定、精确(能够获得埃米级的精度),可重复性好。例如,它对散射和波动不敏感,并且不要求标样或校准。

椭圆偏振法的优点

  • 无损和非接触技术

  • 不需要样品制备

  • 固体和液体样品

  • 快速的薄膜厚度扫描(mapping

  • 单层和多层样品

  • 厚度小于10nm的超薄薄膜的精确测量

Spectroscopic Ellipsometry Principles

Ellipsometry is a versatile thin film characterization technique that has applications in many different fields. This sensitive measurement technique provides unequalled capabilities for thin film metrology, and provides thin film thickness with angstrom resolution. As an optical technique, spectroscopic ellipsometry is non-destructive and contactless.

Which Thin Film Properties are Characterized by Spectroscopic Ellipsometers ?

Through an analysis of the state of polarization of the light that is reflected from the sample the technique allows the accurate characterization of a range of properties including the layer thickness, optical constants, chemical composition, crystallinity, anisotropy and uniformity. Thickness determinations ranging from a few angstroms to tens of microns are possible for single layers or complex multilayer stacks.

Optical

Ellipsometry Equation

Ellipsometry consists of the measurement of the change in polarization state of a beam of light upon reflection from the sample of interest. The exact nature of the polarization change is determined by the sample's properties (thickness and refractive index). The experimental data are usually expressed as two parameters Ψ and Δ. The polarization state of the light incident upon the sample may be decomposed into an s and a p component (the s-component is oscillating parallel to the sample surface, and the p-component is oscillating parallel to the plane of incidence). The intensity of the s and p component, after reflection, are denoted by Rs and Rp. The fundamental equation of ellipsometry is then written:

Thus, tanΨ is the amplitude change upon reflection, and Δ is the phase shift. Since ellipsometry is measuring the ratio of two values (rather than the absolute value of either), it is very robust, accurate (can achieve angstrom resolution) and reproducible. For instance, it is insensitive to scatter and fluctuations, and requires no standard or calibration.

Ellipsometry Advantages

  • Non-destructive and non-contact technique
  • No sample preparation
  • Solid and liquid samples
  • Fast thin film thickness mapping
  • Single and multi layer samples
  • Accurate measurement of ultra-thin films of thickness < 10nm