拉曼散射的Jablonksi能级图

斯托克斯和反斯托克斯拉曼散射中,前者散射光子的能量较之入射光子变低(失去能量,波长红移),而它的散射强度更大一些,这是因为在室温下分子中大多数电子主要布居在振动基态(参见上图所示)

分子中少量电子布居在较高的振动能级上,因此散射光子的能量可以大于入射光子,(获得能量,波长蓝移)这就是强度相对弱很多的反斯托克斯拉曼散射.

入射光子和样品分子相互作用,光子能量的改变量(得到或者失去能量)取决于每个化学键(振动)的特性。并非所有的振动都能在拉曼光谱上反映出来,这取决于分子的对称性。但是可以获得足够的信息,用来对分子结构进行相当精确的表征.

因此,C-H键对应的能量改变不同于 C-O对应的能量改变,也不同于金属和氧之间成键的能量改变。通过测量散射光中这些不同波长成分,可以探测到与这些不同波长相对应的不同的键和振动,点击此处 可获得一系列化学键的拉曼峰位置列表。.

Jablonski Energy Diagram for Raman Scattering

Jablonski Energy Diagram for Raman Scattering

By far the stronger of the two processes is the Stokes scattering, whereby the photon is scattered at lower energy (shifted wavelength towards the red end of the spectrum) - Since at room temperature the population state of a molecule is principally in its ground vibrational state this is the larger Raman scattering effect. (see the diagram above)

A small number of molecules will be in a higher vibrational level, and hence the scattered photon can actually be scattered at a higher energy, (a gain in energy and a shift to higher energy and a blue shifted wavelength). This is the much weaker Anti-Stokes Raman scattering.

The incident photons will thus interact with the present molecule, and the amount of energy change (either lost or gained) by a photon is characteristic of the nature of each bond (vibration) present. Not all vibrations will be observable with Raman spectroscopy (depending upon the symmetry of the molecule.) but sufficient information is usually present to enable a very precise characterization of the molecular structure.

Hence, the amount of energy shift for a C-H bond is different to that seen with a C-O bond, and different again to that seen with a Metal-O bond. By looking at all these various wavelengths of scattered light, one can detect a range of wavelengths associated with the different bonds and vibrations, for a table of Raman band positions click here.