当单色光照射到样品上时,光与样品发生某些形式的相互作用。它可以按照一定方式被反射、吸收或者散射。其中出现的散射光可以告诉拉曼光谱学家一些关于样品分子结构的信息.

分析散射光的频率(波长)可以发现,其中不仅存在与入射光波长相同的成分(瑞利散射),而且还存在有少量的波长改变了的散射光(斯托克斯和反斯托克斯拉曼散射),拉曼散射光强度大约是总散射光强度的10-7 。正是这些波长改变了的拉曼散射光能够给我们提供有关样品的化学成分和结构信息.

Light scattered from a molecule

 

来自分子的散射光有几种成分:瑞利散射、斯托克斯和反斯托克斯拉曼散射.

在分子体系中,这些频率主要是位于分子转动、振动以及电子能级跃迁相关的范围内。散射光沿着所有方向辐射,伴随波长的变化,其偏振方向也有变化.

  • 散射光频率不发生改变的散射过程称为瑞利散射,就是Lord Rayleigh用来解释天空之所以呈现为蓝色的那种过程.
  • 散射光频率(波长)发生改变的散射过程称为拉曼散射,拉曼光子的能量与入射光子能量相比可以增大,也可以变小, 取决于分子的振动态.

When monochromatic radiation is incident upon a sample then this light will interact with the sample in some fashion. It may be reflected, absorbed or scattered in some manner. It is the scattering of the radiation that occurs which can tell the Raman spectroscopist something of the samples molecular structure.

If the frequency (wavelength) of the scattered radiation is analyzed, not only is the incident radiation wavelength seen (Rayleigh scattering) but also, a small amount of radiation that is scattered at some different wavelength (Stokes and Anti-Stokes Raman scattering). (approx. only 1 x 10-7 of the scattered light is Raman). It is the change in wavelength of the scattered photon which provides the chemical and structural information.

Raman spectroscopy principle: Raman scattering
Light scattered from a molecule

Light scattered from a molecule has several components - the Rayleigh scatter and the Stokes and Anti-Stokes Raman scatter.

In molecular systems, these frequencies are principally in the ranges associated with rotational, vibrational and electronic level transitions. The scattered radiation occurs over all directions and may also have observable changes in its polarization along with its wavelength.

  • The scattering process without a change of frequency is called Rayleigh scattering, and is the same process described by Lord Rayleigh and which accounts for the blue color of the sky.
  • A change in the frequency (wavelength) of the light is called Raman scattering. Raman shifted photons of light can be either of higher or lower energy, depending upon the vibrational state of the molecule.