生物/医药

应用文献

所有应用文献列表请点击这里

文献

所有应用文献列表请点击这里

由于需要在完全真空的条件来检测许多生物类重要的元素(包括纳、镁、硫、钙)传统的XRF不再能满足生物和医学研究。在这些领域的常规样品是无法承受这样的实验条件的。

因此,HORIBA XGT独特的不完全真空模式,使分析生物组织和其他含水的材料成为可能,从此我们可以用XRF来定性这一类的材料。XGT的微区能力可以分析单个颗粒,图像实验可以显示在样品表面元素的分布。

象骨骼疾病研究,药物疏运通路,组织聚集物,植物叶片中的微节结,植物修复路径,胆结石图像都需要微区XRF分析。这些研究的共性在于都需要对主要元素和痕量元素进行微区元素分析。

微区XRF的应用领域:

  • 叶片和植物
  • 组织
  • 骨头
  • 疾病检测
  • 药物相互作用
  • 药物材料
  • 矿物沉积和石头
  • 移植和脚手架

实例

Biology

分析桑椹的叶片显示随着叶片年龄的不同内部结构的变化。X射线图像显示叶片主组织,转运管道清晰可见。老叶片中钙节结清晰可见,而新叶片中却没有。具推测,这些节结可以防御丝绸蠕虫,对于桑椹还是主要的食物储备。

Biology / Medicine

Application Notes

  • Bio01 (XGT01) : Biological applications of XRF microscopy.
  • Bio02 (XGT02) : Elemental micro-analysis of leaves using EDXRF.
  • Bio03 (XGT12) : Elemental analysis of single rice grains using XRF micro-analysis.

For a list of all available application notes please click here

Articles

For a list of all available articles please click here

Traditionally XRF has not been the must useful technique for biological and medical research, since it is usually necessary to work with a full vacuum in order to detect many of the biologically important elements (including Sodium, Magnesium, Sulfur , Calcium). Typical samples in these fields cannot withstand such experimental conditions.

However, the unique Partial Vacuum Mode available on the HORIBA XGT systems now opens this technique to the analysis of biological tissues and other water containing materials. Hence it is now possible to characterise these materials using XRF. The microscopic capabilities of the XGT systems allows individual particles or features to be analysed, and imaging experiments can show the distribution of elements across a surface.

Areas which have already utilised the power of micro-XRF analysis include bone disease research, drug pathways and accumulation in tissue, micro-nodules in plant leaves, phytoremediation pathways in plants, and imaging of gallstones. The common link between these is the requirement for microscopic elemental analysis of both major and trace elements.

Key areas which benefit from micro-XRF include:

  • Leaves and plants
  • Tissue
  • Bones
  • Disease investigation
  • Drug interactions
  • Pharmaceutical materials
  • Mineral deposits and stones
  • Implants and scaffolds

Example

Biology

Analysis of mulberry leaves illustrates an internal structure which varies with leaf age. The transmitted X-ray image shows the main tissue of the leaf with the transport vessels clearly visible. In the older leaf (C) Calcium nodules are clearly visible, whilst the youngest leaf (A) shows none. It is surmised that these nodules could be a defence established against silk worms, for whom the mulberry is a principal food stock.