纳米尺度拉曼成像

标准共焦拉曼显微系统的空间分辨率由于受到光学衍射极限的限制,可实现的空间分辨率在<1 µm的量级(取决于激光波长、物镜和共焦耦合)。接近或超过光学衍射极限则需要严密的显微方式,这就是为什么HORIBA Scientific系统使用真共焦光路来实现尽可能高的空间分辨率。

我们获取高空间分辨率拉曼成像的方法取决于对测量的精细度需求,大体上可以分为以下三个主要类别:

标准的微米尺度共焦拉曼成像

使用机械化的样品平台和高放大倍数的显微物镜,能够对微米尺度的颗粒或者特征物进行定位、识别并成像。

3 µm小球的拉曼图像

亚微米共焦拉曼成像

使用最佳的显微物镜,仔细挑选最合适的激光波长以及设置合理的成像采集,能够使显微拉曼分辨率逼近真正的光学极限,即远场衍射极限。

点击此处获得更多信息

半导体样品上250nm和350nm特征物的拉曼图像,
样品由ATMEL ROUSSET( Université Paul Cezanne,法国)提供。

纳米尺度共焦拉曼成像

要想超越传统的远场衍射极限,就需要近场技术,即使用诸如近场扫描光学显微镜/扫描近场光学显微镜(NSOM/SNOM)以及拉曼-原子力显微镜联用的针尖增强拉曼散射技术。近场光谱保留了远场实验中丢失的纳米级空间信息,从而使拉曼图像的空间分辨率低至50 nm或更小。

点击此处获得更多信息

Si基底上30nm高、250nm宽的SiOx特征物的针尖增强拉曼光谱成像。感谢美国田纳西大学诺克斯韦尔的Alexei Sokolov教授提供的数据。

Nanoscale Raman Imaging

The spatial resolution of a standard confocal Raman microscope system is limited by the optical diffraction limit, resulting in an achievable spatial resolution in the order of <1 µm (depending on laser wavelength, objective and confocal coupling).  Moving to the diffraction limit and beyond requires a rigorous microscopic approach, which is why the HORIBA Scientific systems use true confocal optics to give the highest possible spatial resolution.

Our approach for high spatial resolution Raman imaging depends on the precise requirements for the measurement, but broadly falls into three main categories:

Standard micron-scale confocal Raman imaging

Enables localisation, identification and mapped imaging of particles and features on the micron scale, utilising mechanical sample stages and high magnification objectives.

Raman mapped image of 3 µm beams

Sub-micron confocal Raman imaging

The use of optimized microscope objectives, careful selection of the most appropriate laser wavelength, and specialized mapping acquisition enables Raman microscopy to push towards the true optical limit of resolution - the far field diffraction limit.

Click here for further information

Raman mapped image of 250 nm and 350 nm features on a semiconductor Sample provided by ATMEL ROUSSET Université Paul Cezanne, France

Nano-scale confocal Raman imaging

Moving beyond the traditional far field diffraction limit requires a near field approach – using techniques such as NSOM/SNOM and Raman-AFM tip enhanced Raman scattering (TERS).  Near field spectroscopy retains the nanometer spatial information which is lost in far field experiments, and thus allows Raman imaging with spatial resolution down to 50 nm and beyond.

Click here for further information

TERS mapping of 30nm high, 250nm wide SiOx features on a Si substrate Data courtesy of Professor Alexei Sokolov University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA